CCC Releases All-Sports Trophy Standings Through Fall Season

CCC Releases All-Sports Trophy Standings Through Fall Season

Western New England men and women in third and sixth place, respectively

CCC Release

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. (December 1, 2016) – The Western New England University men's and women's teams are in third and sixth place, respectively, in the Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) All-Sports Trophy standings through the fall season, the league office announced today.

The All-Sports Trophies have been awarded annually since 2013-14 to the schools that perform the best across the board in league competition. In each sport, points are awarded based on CCC championship and CCC runner-up finishes in the conference tournament followed by the regular season finish of the remaining teams. The CCC champion receives 10 points and the CCC runner-up receives nine points.

The regular season finish of the remaining teams is used to determine the number of points for those programs. The team with the highest regular season finish, excluding the tournament champion and runner-up, receives eight points with the next team down receiving seven points. The process continues until all teams have been awarded points. In the event of a tie, each tied team receives the average of the sum of the spots for which they are competing.

After the total points are calculated, points are then divided by the number of CCC sports that each school sponsors to arrive at an average score.

The Western New England men earned ten points from with the soccer team's sixth CCC title, while the cross country squad received six points from its finish at the conference championship race.

The Golden Bear women were led by strong showings from both the volleyball and field hockey programs, which collected nine points each after reaching the championship contest of their respective CCC Tournament. The women's tennis and cross country teams received six points each, while the women's soccer team added three.

The All-Sports Trophy standings will be updated again in March following the conclusion of the CCC winter season.

The Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC), founded in 1984, is an NCAA Division III athletic conference comprised of ten full member and three associate member institutions throughout the New England region. Its membership aims to provide student-athletes with a positive experience in their pursuit of excellence through high academic standards, quality competition, and a meaningful student life. The conference currently administers championships in 16 intercollegiate sports with that number set to increase next year with the addition of football.